WCAA Announces Recipient of the Jill Robson Memorial Scholarship

It is with great pleasure that WCAA announces Jean Lawes of HomeStyle, LLC, a to the trade workroom - in Jarrettsville, Maryland, as the recipient of the Jill Robson Memorial Scholarship Award for a WCAA member.
Jean has been a member of WCAA National since 2013, and she is a former Central NJ Chapter member. When her family relocated from New Jersey to Maryland, Jean quickly became involved in the Maryland Chapter, as well as the SEPA Chapter in Pennsylvania. She is presently serving as Vice President of WCAA Maryland, and Treasurer of WCAA SEPA.

Like many of our members, Jean learned to sew from her mother, who learned from her mother. Jean's mom was a Home Economics teacher and an award-winning seamstress through the 4-H. "As soon as I was old enough to sit in front of a sewing machine, mom had me in front of an unthreaded machine, following a traced shape," says Jean.

Previously, Jean has taken classes from Penny Bruce, Jeanelle Dech and Michele Williams, to name a few. She's also attended the Central NJ Chapter's Windows to Success conference three times, and attended two conferences from CHFA. She is a regular attendee of the Lunch 'n Learn Webinars by WCAA, as well as webinars by Rowley Company.
"I am a sponge for soaking up sewing and business education," says Jean. "Each experience adds to my arsenal and makes me more professional." Jean plans to split the money from this scholarship award between additional classes in technique and business.
"Jean has great enthusiasm for her craft," says Candida DeLago, of Candida DeLago Design. "She simply loves what she does and her energy is infectious. She is always willing to share her time and knowledge with whomever asks; her generosity never falters."
WCAA and Stephen Robson will officially present Jean with her scholarship award on Tuesday, May 2, following the Keynote Address at the Custom Workroom Conference in TN. We know Jill would be proud of our choice for the first recipient of the scholarship awarded in her name. 
Congratulations, Jean!